Updated October 2026 · 12 tools · prices checked 31 Oct 2026

Best AI Story Generator 2026: Which AI Is Best for Story Writing?

The best storytelling AI depends on the story. A bedtime story, a choose-your-path adventure and a 40-chapter novel need different tools. This roundup matches each kind of story to the tool that handles it, with free-tier limits, prices read from each vendor's own site, who owns what you write, and what happens when you want to publish it.

By Sam May, founder of Inkfluence AI

Five cream index cards fanned on a honey-wood desk, hand-lettered Short story, Bedtime, Interactive, Novel and Fan fiction, with a closed laptop, an indigo fountain pen, a mug of tea and a small plant
Five kinds of story, five different jobs for an AI. Pick the kind first, then the tool.

Which AI is best for story writing? The short answer

Quick answer

For a story you want to finish and publish, short or novel-length, the best AI story generator in 2026 is Inkfluence AI: it outlines the story, writes it chapter by chapter against a story bible, illustrates picture books, and exports PDF, EPUB, Word and a KDP package. For interactive play, use NovelAI or AI Dungeon. For polishing prose you wrote yourself, Sudowrite or Novelcrafter. For one scene or a brainstorm, Claude or ChatGPT. For a free one-click story with no account, our free story generator or a Toolbaz-style generator.

Most "best AI for stories" lists rank a dozen tools on one scale, which hides the real decision. A roleplay AI is excellent at the next turn and poor at producing a 300-page file; a book writer is the reverse. So this page starts with the kind of story you want.

For a feature-by-feature comparison of eight tools, see our AI story writing tools comparison; for long fiction, the best AI for writing novels test.

What changed for AI story generators in 2026

Checked 31 Oct 2026 on each vendor's own site

  • ClosedDreamily shut down on 21 April 2026. Its offline notice says all user data was permanently deleted. Export your work from every tool, often.
  • ChangedStoryflow is now a visual canvas workspace, not a story generator. It is paid-only during early access, and its pricing page says the free plan "launches before the end of 2026".
  • RulesKDP now caps new titles at 2 per book format each week, resetting Sunday 12:00 AM UTC, per KDP's limits page. Bulk-publishing short AI stories one by one is no longer practical; collections make more sense.
  • PricesChat plans spread out. ChatGPT now lists Go at $8, Plus at $20 and Pro at $100, $200 and $500 a month.
  • NewFree illustrated storybooks went mainstream. Gemini Storybook makes a 10-page illustrated storybook with read-aloud narration for Gemini users over 18. Inkfluence AI's picture books now cost 1 credit per page on the free plan (from 25 October 2026).

Which AI story generator fits which kind of story

Find your row. The best pick is the tool that gets that kind of story from idea to something a reader can hold; the runner-up is the strongest alternative with a different trade-off.

Kind of storyBest pickRunner-upWatch out for
Short story
1,000 to 10,000 words, one sitting
Inkfluence AI Claude or ChatGPT for a single scene Chat tools write it well but leave you to format and export it yourself.
Kids' bedtime story
Read-aloud, illustrated
Inkfluence AI picture book mode Gemini Storybook for a one-off at home A 10-page storybook is below KDP's 24-page paperback minimum.
Interactive or roleplay story
You make the choices
NovelAI AI Dungeon or Talefy Great to play, not built to export a finished book.
Full-length novel
30 chapters and up
Inkfluence AI Sudowrite or Novelcrafter if you write most of it yourself Continuity across chapters is the test; check a story bible exists.
Fan fiction
Characters you do not own
Inkfluence AI fanfiction writer NovelAI for interactive fan scenarios Post it free on fan sites; you cannot sell another owner's characters.
A quick free idea
No account, one click
Inkfluence free story generator Toolbaz-style free generators Good for sparks; no editor, no saved project, no export.

Pick a tool in three questions

Runs in your browser; nothing is sent anywhere.

Your pick

Inkfluence AI

Outlines the novel, writes it chapter by chapter against a story bible, and exports the files KDP asks for.

Start it free

Best AI for short stories

A short story is the one place where a plain chat assistant does well: paste in a premise, ask for 3,000 words with a turn in the middle, and Claude or ChatGPT will give you a readable draft. The trouble starts afterwards: the draft lives in a chat window, and the formatting, cover and file are yours to sort out.

In Inkfluence AI a short story is a short book: ask for two or three chapters, adjust the outline, and get the chapters in an editor plus a PDF on the free plan. Five free chapters a month covers one or two short stories. Six or eight of them make a collection worth putting on KDP, which matters now that new titles are capped at two a week per format.

Genre helps the AI. Our genre pages show what each one needs: the horror story generator, the sci-fi story generator, the seasonal Halloween story generator and the dark romance generator.

Best AI for kids' bedtime stories

A parent sits on a child's bed in warm lamplight reading a square picture book with a watercolour fox and lighthouse to a sleepy five-year-old under a knitted blanket
A bedtime story is a picture book: short lines, one picture a page, read aloud.

A bedtime story is short to write and hard to make well, because the pictures carry half of it. Inkfluence AI's picture book mode writes the read-aloud text (a line or two a page for toddlers, up to a short paragraph from age 6), paints a picture for every page from a character sheet, and lays it out at the 8.5 by 8.5 inch square size. The default is about 14 pages. On the free plan it costs 1 credit per page, words and picture together, so a 14-page book is 14 credits and the 15-credit pack ($9.99) covers it. On Creator and Premium it uses your monthly illustration allowance (20 or 50 images).

Gemini Storybook is the alternative for a one-off at home: it makes a 10-page illustrated storybook with narration that you can print from the browser or share by link. It is for Gemini users over 18, its page says nothing about selling the result, and ten pages is under KDP's 24-page paperback minimum. A family keepsake, not a book to publish.

For the full children's-book field, including illustrators and layout tools, see our best AI children's book creator ranking and the AI storybook generator.

Best AI for interactive and roleplay stories

Two friends at a wooden kitchen table in evening lamplight playing a story game, one holding a tablet and the other sketching an island map in pencil, with dice and popcorn between them
Interactive stories are played, not printed. Different tools, different goal.

If the fun is choosing what happens next, you want a story engine, not a book writer. NovelAI is the most capable: unlimited text on every paid tier, lorebooks for your world, and image generation. Its free Paper trial gives 50 text generations, 30 images and 100 text-to-speech generations, and paid plans are $10, $15 and $25 a month (NovelAI subscription docs, checked 31 Oct 2026). The top Opus tier has the longest memory, up to 28,672 tokens.

AI Dungeon calls itself "a free AI text adventure game" and is the easiest way in. Talefy mixes interactive story games with tools that generate characters, worlds and chapter outlines; its FAQ says prices start from $1.99 but it publishes no plan list.

None of these exports a formatted book. When a session becomes something worth publishing, copy the text into a document, import it into Inkfluence AI (Word, EPUB, PDF or plain text), and edit it into chapters. Our Inkfluence AI vs NovelAI and Inkfluence AI vs Talefy pages go through the trade-offs.

Best AI for full-length novels and series

A cork board story map of cream index cards in columns joined by red thread, above a honey-wood desk with a thick printed manuscript, a red pen, a mug and a fern
A novel is a continuity problem. The tool has to remember the board, not just the last page.

The test for novel-length AI is whether chapter 20 remembers chapter 3: who knows the secret, where everyone is, what has already happened. Inkfluence AI keeps a story bible for every novel (plot, synopsis, characters, key objects, the rules you set) and writes fiction one chapter after another so each chapter reads what came before. After each chapter it records what is now true on the page and checks the next chapter's plan against it, so a reveal is not told twice. The method is explained in how Inkfluence AI keeps a book consistent.

Length follows chapter count: there is no word-count setting, and chapters usually come out at roughly 1,000 to 1,500 words, so a 30-chapter draft lands around 30,000 to 45,000 words before you edit and expand. Creator includes 35 chapters a month, enough for one such draft; Premium has no monthly chapter limit. When the book is done, "Continue as a series" writes book two from the real ending of book one, carrying the story bible across (see writing a series with AI).

Sudowrite and Novelcrafter suit writers who want to write most of the sentences themselves: Sudowrite as a credit-priced co-writer, Novelcrafter as a planning workspace where you bring your own AI key. Our Sudowrite vs Novelcrafter post compares the two directly.

For more on long fiction, the best AI novel writer ranking and our AI novel writer page cover genre-specific setups, and how many words in a novel gives the targets publishers use.

Best AI for fan fiction

Fan fiction has one rule that decides the tool: you can write it and share it free, but you cannot sell a story built on characters someone else owns. So the questions are whether the tool will write your fandom's tone, whether it keeps track of a long fic across chapters, and whether it gives you a clean file to post.

Inkfluence AI's AI fanfiction writer handles multi-chapter fics with the same story bible as a novel, and there are dedicated starting points for x reader fanfiction and anime fanfiction. NovelAI suits fans who want to play scenarios in a fandom rather than write a finished fic. Our best AI for writing fanfiction post compares the field.

If you want to sell it later, rename the characters and build your own world early. Tropes are not owned: found family and enemies to lovers are yours to use in an original book.

The 12 tools at a glance: free tier, price and who owns the story

Every price below was read on the vendor's own pricing page on 31 Oct 2026. Where a vendor's page shows no price, the cell says so instead of guessing. Ownership is quoted or summarised from the vendor's own pricing page or terms.

ToolFree tierPaid (checked 31 Oct 2026)Who owns the story
Story and book writer, illustrator, narrator
Export: PDF, EPUB, Word, KDP package
5 chapters a month, PDF export Creator $9.99/mo ($89/yr), Premium $19.99/mo ($179/yr) You do (Terms 4.1); not used to train AI
Fiction co-writer
Export: Not stated on pricing page
Free trial, no card (length not stated) From $19/mo monthly or $10/mo billed yearly "We claim no rights" over input or output
Story play and anime images
Export: Not a book exporter
Paper trial: 50 text generations Tablet $10, Scroll $15, Opus $25 a month You keep all rights to your Content
Novel planning workspace
Export: Formats not stated on pricing page
21-day trial, no free plan $4 (no AI) to $20/mo; AI on your own key Not stated on pricing page
General chat assistant
Export: Copy and paste
Free tier with usage limits Go $8, Plus $20, Pro from $100 a month Terms say you own the output
General chat assistant
Export: Copy and paste
Free tier with usage limits Pro $20/mo or $17/mo yearly; Max from $100 Rights in outputs assigned to you
AI book editor
Export: PDF and DOCX
1,000 AI credits a month Plus $29.99/mo or $15.83/mo yearly "100% yours"
Interactive story games
Export: Not stated
Free account FAQ says "from $1.99"; no plan list Not stated on homepage
AI Dungeon
AI text adventure
Export: Not a book exporter
Free to play Paid memberships; no prices on homepage Not checked
10-page illustrated storybook
Export: Print from browser, share link
Inside the Gemini app (18+) No price on the Storybook page Not stated on the Storybook page
Storyflow
Visual canvas and AI workspace
Export: Boards as PNG, SVG, PDF
Free plan "launches before the end of 2026" Plus $9.99/mo, Pro $19/mo, Max $49/mo Not stated on pricing page
Free one-click generator
Export: Copy and paste
Free, no signup "Try Pro" link, no price shown Not stated on the tool page

Not checked means we did not read that vendor's terms for this page; read them before you publish. Dreamily is left out because it closed on 21 April 2026.

Cheapest paid plan, billed monthly

US dollars a month, from each vendor's own page on 31 Oct 2026. Bars are to scale. What the money buys differs a lot, so read the note.

Novelcrafter Hobbyistplus your own AI key costs
$8
ChatGPT Go
$8
Inkfluence AI Creator35 chapters a month
$9.99
Storyflow Pluscanvas workspace
$9.99
NovelAI Tabletunlimited text
$10
Sudowrite Hobby & Student225,000 credits
$19
Claude Pro
$20
Squibler Plus10,000 credits
$29.99

The best AI story generators, tool by tool

Best overallFree plan

1. Inkfluence AI: best for stories you want to finish and publish

Inkfluence AI is built around the finished book. Type an idea, review the outline, and it writes the chapters into an editor where you can rewrite anything or ask the assistant to review the whole book. Fiction gets a story bible; picture books get a painted page for every line. The same project gives you a cover (with back cover and spine for print), an audiobook, a book video, a translation, and PDF, EPUB, Word and KDP files.

  • Free: 5 chapters a month, editor, story bible, PDF export (with Inkfluence branding). EPUB and Word come with any paid plan or credit pack.
  • Paid: Creator $9.99 a month or $89 a year (35 chapters a month, 20 images, 15 audiobook chapters); Premium $19.99 a month or $179 a year (no monthly chapter limit, 50 images, 30 audiobook chapters). Credit packs: 15 for $9.99, 25 for $12.99, 50 for $24.99.
  • Ownership: the terms say you retain all rights to what you create, and your content is not used to train AI models.
  • Limits, plainly: no interactive or roleplay mode; no word-count target; a story's length follows its chapter count.

More: AI story writer · pricing

2. Sudowrite: best for writers who draft their own prose

A fiction co-writer with a Story Bible, scene drafting and rewriting tools, priced in monthly credits. Strong when you are steering every paragraph; less useful if you want a whole draft in one go.

  • Free: trial, no card; length not stated.
  • Paid: Hobby & Student $19 a month billed monthly or $10 a month yearly (225,000 credits); Professional $29 or $22; Max $59 or $44 (Sudowrite's cost post, pricing page).
  • Ownership: "We claim no rights over anything you put into Sudowrite, nor anything Sudowrite generates for you."

Inkfluence AI vs Sudowrite · Sudowrite alternative · review

3. NovelAI: best for interactive story play

A story engine you write with turn by turn, with lorebooks for your world and anime-style image generation. Unlimited text on every paid tier. Not a book exporter.

  • Free: Paper trial, 50 text generations, 30 images, 100 text-to-speech.
  • Paid: Tablet $10, Scroll $15, Opus $25 a month (subscription docs).
  • Ownership: "You ... retain all rights and ownership of your Content" (terms, section 1.3).

Inkfluence AI vs NovelAI

4. Novelcrafter: best for planners who bring their own AI

A novel workspace with a Codex, scene beats and summaries. From Hobbyist up, AI runs on your own provider key, so the AI bill is separate and varies with use.

  • Free: 21-day trial; no free plan.
  • Paid: Scribe $4 (no AI), Hobbyist $8, Artisan $14, Specialist $20 a month; yearly is "2 months off" (pricing).
  • Ownership: not stated on the pricing page.

Inkfluence AI vs Novelcrafter

5. ChatGPT: best for brainstorming and single scenes

Good at a premise, a twist or a scene. Over a long story it loses track of earlier chapters, and you assemble the pieces by hand.

  • Free: free tier with usage limits.
  • Paid: Go $8, Plus $20, Pro $100, $200 or $500 a month (OpenAI pricing docs).
  • Ownership: OpenAI's terms of use say you own the output, as far as the law allows, and note similar output may go to other users.

Inkfluence AI vs ChatGPT

6. Claude: best for long, careful scenes

Natural prose and good with long pasted context, so it suits revising a chapter you wrote. Same chat-window limits for a whole book.

  • Free: free tier with usage limits.
  • Paid: Pro $20 a month, or $17 a month billed yearly ($200); Max from $100 (pricing).
  • Ownership: Anthropic assigns you its rights in outputs, subject to the consumer terms; chats may be used for training unless you opt out.

Inkfluence AI vs Claude · which Claude model

7. Squibler: best for long manuscripts on a big budget

An AI book editor that generates full-length manuscripts (200 to 300 pages on Plus) with PDF and DOCX export. The free plan does not include full-length generation.

  • Free: 1,000 AI credits a month, no time limit.
  • Paid: Plus $29.99 a month or $15.83 a month yearly; Pro $89.99 or $49.17 (pricing).
  • Ownership: "Everything that you create with Squibler is 100% yours."

Inkfluence AI vs Squibler · Squibler alternative

8. Talefy: best for quick interactive story games

Read or play AI story games where your choices change the plot, or generate characters, worlds, plots and chapter outlines. Made for reading and playing rather than publishing.

  • Free: free account.
  • Paid: its homepage FAQ says prices start from $1.99; no plan breakdown is published.
  • Ownership: not stated on the homepage.

Inkfluence AI vs Talefy

9. AI Dungeon: best free text adventure

The original AI text adventure: open-ended worlds where you type what your character does and the story answers. It also sells paid memberships; the homepage lists no prices, so check them in the app.

  • Free: "a free AI text adventure game" (homepage).
  • Publishing: not built for it; copy out anything you want to keep.

10. Gemini Storybook: best free one-off for family reading

Inside the Gemini app: describe a story, add a photo if you want, and get a 10-page illustrated storybook with read-aloud narration. Print from the browser or share a public link.

  • Who: Gemini users over 18 (Storybook page).
  • Publishing: 10 pages is below KDP's 24-page paperback minimum; no EPUB or print-ready file.

11. Storyflow: best for planning a story visually

A canvas for boards, moodboards and storyboards, with documents and an AI assistant that sees the whole canvas. Useful for plotting; not a story writer that exports a book.

  • Paid: Plus $9.99 a month ($7.99 yearly), Pro $19 ($14), Max $49 ($39); paid-only in early access (pricing).
  • Export: boards as PNG, SVG or PDF.

12. Free one-click generators: best for a spark

Toolbaz says "No signup required" and offers lengths from a 300 to 600-word short story to a 3,000 to 4,000-word novella; its page does not state commercial terms. Our own free story generator is unlimited, needs no account and runs in your browser, with micro and short stories in 12 genres.

  • Good for: prompts, warm-ups, classroom fun.
  • Not for: anything you want to keep editing; there is no project to come back to.

Looking for alternatives to one tool in particular? Our Sudowrite alternative and Squibler alternative pages cover those switches, and the comparison hub lists every head-to-head.

Worked example: one premise, five kinds of story

This is a worked example, not a lab test: we did not run the same prompt through all twelve tools. It shows what each kind of story asks of a tool and what it costs, using each vendor's published prices and Inkfluence AI's own plan rules.

The premise: "A lighthouse keeper's daughter finds a bottle on the beach with a letter addressed to her, dated thirty years before she was born."

Short story

3 chapters in Inkfluence AI

Ask for three chapters: the find, the search, the answer. Review the outline, then write. At roughly 1,000 to 1,500 words a chapter, about 3,000 to 4,500 words. Cost: 3 of the 5 free chapters this month, PDF included.

Bedtime story

14-page picture book

Tell it the reader is four. Short lines, a painted page each, the same girl on every page, 8.5 by 8.5 inches. Cost on the free plan: 14 credits, so the 15-credit pack at $9.99. On Creator: 14 of your 20 monthly images.

Interactive

Play it in NovelAI or AI Dungeon

Put the lighthouse, the father and the letter in the world notes and play the daughter. NovelAI's free trial covers 50 generations, enough for a short session; regular play means a $10 to $25 plan.

Novel

30 chapters with a story bible

Thirty chapters is roughly 30,000 to 45,000 words of draft. Free plan: the first 5 chapters to judge continuity. Creator ($9.99): all 30 in one month, with 5 chapters spare for rewrites.

Fan fiction

Same premise, a world you love

Set it in a fandom's lighthouse town and post it free. Want to sell it? Rename everyone, invent the town, keep the letter. That version is original fiction.

Chat tool route

Same story in ChatGPT or Claude

Fine for the short story on a free tier. For the novel: thirty separate requests, pasting the earlier chapters back in, then formatting and building an EPUB yourself. The $20 plan buys capacity, not a book file.

Free AI story generators: what you actually get for $0

Free means different things: a few generations to try, a small monthly allowance that never runs out, or unlimited one-click stories with nothing saved.

ToolWhat free gives youThe catch
Inkfluence AI5 AI chapters a month, every month; editor, story bible, cover designer, PDFPDF carries Inkfluence branding; EPUB, Word and picture books need a plan or credits
Inkfluence free story generatorUnlimited micro and short stories, 12 genres, no accountNo saved project; send a story to the app to keep it
NovelAI50 text generations, 30 images, 100 text-to-speechA trial, not a monthly allowance
Squibler1,000 AI credits a month, no time limitNo full-length manuscript generation on free
Sudowrite, NovelcrafterFree trials (Novelcrafter 21 days)No free plan after the trial
ChatGPT, ClaudeFree tiers with usage limitsChat only; you assemble and format the story
AI Dungeon, Talefy, ToolbazFree play or free one-click storiesBuilt for play or a spark, not a book

Ask "can I keep going for free", not "is it free". For free options aimed at long fiction, see our free AI novel writer page.

Who owns a story an AI writes?

Two separate questions get mixed up here. The first is contractual: does the tool claim any rights in what it writes for you? For the tools whose terms we read, the answer is no. Inkfluence AI, NovelAI, Sudowrite and Squibler all say the work is yours, and OpenAI and Anthropic assign you their rights in outputs. Two details matter: OpenAI notes that similar output may be generated for other users, and Anthropic's consumer terms allow chats to be used for model training unless you opt out. Inkfluence AI's terms say your content is not used to train AI models.

The second question is copyright law, and no terms of service can settle it. The US Copyright Office addressed AI outputs in Part 2 of its AI report (29 January 2025): copyright protects human authorship, and prompts alone do not make you the author of what an AI writes. What you add, rewrite, select and arrange is where your claim lives. That is a practical reason to edit an AI draft hard, quite apart from making it better.

Original story

Yours under the tool's terms; strengthen your copyright claim by rewriting and shaping it.

Fan fiction

Your words, someone else's characters. Share it free; do not sell it.

Interactive session

Export it before you rely on the app keeping it. Dreamily deleted everything when it closed.

For the selling side in more detail, read can you sell AI-generated books.

What happens when you want to publish your story

Overhead view of a honey-wood table with a 6 by 9 inch paperback proof, a square picture book with a watercolour fox, an e-reader, a steel ruler and a notepad with a tick list
Different stories, different files: a 6 by 9 paperback, a square picture book, an ebook.

Most story generators stop at the text. Getting a story to readers needs a cover, the right file and a few KDP rules. KDP's own help pages, read on 31 Oct 2026:

  • Disclose AI content. KDP's content guidelines require you to tell it about AI-generated text, images or translations when you publish, "even if you applied substantial edits afterwards". AI-assisted work (you wrote it, AI helped) does not need disclosing. Our KDP AI disclosure guide walks through the form.
  • Two new titles a week per format. Ebook, paperback and hardcover each allow 2 new titles a week, resetting Sunday 12:00 AM UTC (KDP limits).
  • Short stories and ebook price. The 70% ebook royalty needs a list price from $2.99 to $12.99 on Amazon.com; below that it is 35%, with a $0.99 minimum for files under 3 MB (KDP list price rules). A $0.99 short story earns about $0.35 a sale; a $2.99 collection earns about $2.03 at the average $0.06 delivery cost. Collections win.
  • Paperbacks need 24 pages. KDP's minimum is 24 pages (72 for standard colour). Novels usually print at 5 by 8, 5.5 by 8.5 or 6 by 9 inches; picture books at 8.5 by 8.5, with 0.125 inch bleed when art runs to the edge (KDP trim and bleed).
  • Audiobooks: not ACX. ACX accepts human narration only. AI-narrated stories go to other stores; see where to sell an AI audiobook.

In Inkfluence AI these steps sit in the same project: a KDP package with print interior and Kindle files (picture books with bleed), a cover designer with back cover and spine, an audiobook studio using Inkfluence's narration voices, and Etsy, Gumroad or Community page listings. For the file types themselves, our ebook formats guide and KDP Print guide cover the details.

How we chose and checked these tools

Searches for "best AI for story writing" and "best storytelling AI" split into five kinds of story, so the page is built around them. Each tool here is a real option for at least one kind.

Prices

Read on each vendor's own pricing page or docs on 31 Oct 2026. No third-party price lists. Where a vendor shows no price, we say so.

Ownership

Quoted from the vendor's terms or pricing FAQ where we read them; marked not stated or not checked otherwise.

Publishing rules

From KDP's own help pages on AI disclosure, title limits, list prices and trim sizes.

Bias, stated

We make Inkfluence AI and rank it first for finished, publishable stories. We also say where it is the wrong tool: interactive play.

Frequently asked questions

Which AI is best for story writing in 2026?
It depends on the kind of story. For a story you want to finish and publish, short or novel-length, Inkfluence AI is the strongest pick: it outlines, writes chapter by chapter with a story bible, and exports PDF, EPUB, Word and a KDP package. NovelAI and AI Dungeon are better for interactive play, Sudowrite and Novelcrafter for writers who draft their own prose, and Claude or ChatGPT for single scenes.
What is the best free AI story generator?
For a quick story with no account, use a free one-click generator such as the Inkfluence story generator, which is unlimited and runs in your browser. For a story you can keep working on, the Inkfluence AI free plan gives 5 AI-written chapters a month with an editor and PDF export.
What is the best AI for writing a bedtime story for kids?
Inkfluence AI's picture book mode writes the read-aloud text and paints a matching picture for every page, with the same characters throughout, at the 8.5 by 8.5 inch square size used for picture books. On the free plan it costs 1 credit per page, so a 14-page book is 14 credits. Gemini Storybook makes a 10-page storybook, below KDP's 24-page paperback minimum.
Which AI story app is best for interactive stories?
NovelAI and AI Dungeon are built for stories you steer turn by turn, and Talefy offers interactive story games. They are made for playing, not exporting a book. To publish a session, copy it into a document and import it into Inkfluence AI to edit and format it.
Who owns a story written with an AI story generator?
Check each tool's terms. Inkfluence AI's terms say you keep all rights to what you create and that your content is not used to train AI models. NovelAI, Sudowrite and Squibler also leave the work with you, and OpenAI and Anthropic assign their rights in outputs to you. Copyright itself protects human authorship, so your own edits matter.
Can I sell a story an AI wrote on Amazon?
Yes, if you hold the rights and follow KDP's rules. KDP requires you to disclose AI-generated text, images or translations when you publish, even if you edited them heavily. Since 21 September 2026 KDP also limits new titles to 2 per book format each week. You cannot sell fan fiction about characters someone else owns.
Is ChatGPT or Claude good enough to write a whole story?
For a short story, often yes. For a novel, chat tools lose track of earlier chapters, and you assemble, format and export the book yourself. A dedicated story writer keeps a story bible and builds the file for you.
How long can an AI-generated story be?
Free one-click generators usually stop at a few thousand words; Toolbaz offers lengths from a 300 to 600-word short story up to a 3,000 to 4,000-word novella. Inkfluence AI has no word-count setting: length follows the number of chapters you ask for, roughly 1,000 to 1,500 words a chapter, so a 30-chapter novel lands around 30,000 to 45,000 words before you edit and expand it.
What happened to Dreamily?
Dreamily, a free AI story and roleplay app, ceased service on 21 April 2026, and its offline notice says all user data was permanently deleted. It is a reason to keep your own copies: export your stories regularly from any tool you use.
Is Storyflow an AI story generator?
Storyflow is a visual canvas workspace with documents and an AI assistant, used for boards, moodboards and storyboards. It is paid-only during early access (Plus $9.99 a month, checked 31 Oct 2026), with a free plan promised before the end of 2026. It suits planning a story visually, not exporting a book.

Pick the kind of story, then write it

Short story, bedtime book, fan fiction or a full novel: outline it, write it with a story bible, and export the files when you are ready. 5 chapters a month free, no card.