Where to sell an AI-narrated audiobook: every store's rule, checked and dated

Making an AI-narrated audiobook takes an afternoon. Finding a store that will sell it takes longer, because the rules changed several times in 2026 and most guides still describe 2023. This page lists what each major store says today about AI narration, read from its own help pages on 23 September 2026: whether it takes AI audio you made yourself, whether it offers its own AI narration instead, how you disclose it and what it pays where it says. Then a picker sorts the routes for your book, depending on where the ebook is sold, whether it is in Kindle Unlimited, your country and your language.

By Sam May, Founder | Updated September 2026 | Store rules checked 23 September 2026
A printed checklist clipped on a kitchen table, headed Where can The Salt Road audiobook go?, with ticks against Google Play Books - Synthesized voice, Kobo Writing Life - Synthesised voice and My own shop - MP3 download, a cross against ACX / Audible - human narration only, and a question mark against Spotify - ask first. Beside it lie headphones, the paperback The Salt Road by Nell Okafor, a pencil, a mug of tea and a laptop listing Chapter 01 - The Harbour.mp3, Chapter 02 - Low Water.mp3, Chapter 03 - The Crossing.mp3 and Opening credits.mp3.
The short version for a book narrated in your own tool. The Salt Road is an invented example.

Where can you sell an AI-narrated audiobook?

If you made the audio yourself, in any AI tool, the stores that take it as of 23 September 2026 are Google Play Books (narrator set to "Synthesized voice"), Kobo Writing Life (narrator set to "Synthesised voice", any language, no exclusivity), Author's Republic as a test programme, and direct sales through Gumroad, Payhip or your own website. ACX and Audible require human narration. Voices by INaudio (formerly Findaway) takes only packages generated by Google Play Books, ElevenLabs or Spoken Press. Apple Books takes only the narration Apple makes itself. Spotify names providers "like Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, and more", so ask Spotify first. The stores' own AI options are separate: KDP Virtual Voice (US, invite-only, and Audible-exclusive for any audio edition while the ebook is in KDP Select), Google Play auto-narration, Spotify's Audiobook Creation Tools (US, English) and Apple digital narration (English).

The question that decides everything: your file, or the store's AI?

Most confusion about AI audiobooks comes from two different questions being answered as one. Stores now say yes to AI narration in two very different ways.

  • Your own AI audio. You narrate the book in a tool of your choice, download the files and upload them to a store, the way you would upload a human-narrated master. You own the files and can put them wherever the rules allow.
  • The store's AI. You give the store your ebook or EPUB and it narrates the book with its own voices, inside its own system. You usually cannot take that audio elsewhere, and some of these programmes come with exclusivity.

So "Amazon accepts AI narration" is true (Virtual Voice) and "ACX refuses AI narration" is also true, at the same time. "Spotify accepts AI audiobooks" is true for its own tool and for named providers, and unconfirmed for everything else. When a guide tells you a store "welcomes AI narration", check which of the two it means before you spend a weekend on files the store will turn down.

The second thing to know is that a technical spec is not permission. An MP3 at 192 kbps and 44.1 kHz, with loudness in ACX's window, meets ACX's audio requirements and is still not eligible for ACX if the narrator is an AI voice, because that rule is about who narrates, not about the file.

Store-by-store rules for AI narration, checked 23 September 2026

Each row comes from the store's own help or policy page, read on the date above. Quotes are the store's words. Where a store does not publish a royalty for these titles, the table says so rather than guessing. Rules in this area change often, so the source date is in the last column; check the linked page before you upload.

Whether each audiobook store accepts AI narration, how, what it pays and the source, checked 23 September 2026
Store Takes your own AI audio? How it works Store's own AI option Royalty or fees (where stated) Source and date
ACX (Audible and Amazon) No Human narration only. The submission requirements say an audiobook "must be narrated by a human unless otherwise authorized" and that unauthorised text-to-speech, AI or automated recordings are prohibited. None on ACX for authors. Amazon's AI route is KDP Virtual Voice (next row). 50% exclusive or 30% non-exclusive royalty for new ACX users since 26 May 2026, for human-narrated books. ACX audio submission requirements, updated 15 Apr 2026
KDP Virtual Voice No, Amazon's voices only Amazon narrates a Kindle ebook you publish on KDP. Invite-only beta on the US marketplace; 80 voices in English (US, UK, Australian), Spanish (Latin American and Castilian), French and Italian. The listing is labelled as virtual voice. Yes. Sold on Audible, Amazon, Alexa and Amazon Music Unlimited. If the ebook is in KDP Select, every audio edition of that book is Audible-exclusive during enrollment. 40% royalty; list price $3.99 to $14.99. KDP help, Virtual Voice pages (undated), read 23 Sep 2026
Google Play Books Yes Upload MP3, WAV, FLAC or a ZIP in the Partner Center. The narrator field has "Synthesized voice" options: pick one. Free auto-narration with 50+ voices for publishers in 23 countries. Auto-narrated files may be sold elsewhere if the book is also on Google Play at no higher price. 52% on auto-narrated titles. The rate for audio you upload is set in your Partner Center agreement. Google Play Books Partner Center help and auto-narration page, read 23 Sep 2026
Kobo Writing Life Yes Kobo says it will "gladly accept" AI-narrated audiobooks, in any language, with no exclusivity. Set the narrator to Synthesised voice (male, female or unspecified). None. AI-narrated titles are not sent to library distribution. 45% of list price for single sales at $2.99 and up; 32% for subscription listens. Kobo Writing Life help, updated 23 Jul 2026
Spotify for Authors Unconfirmed Spotify accepts digital voice narration "from providers like Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, and more", with a box to tick ("This audiobook uses digital voice narration"). It does not name other tools, so ask Spotify before you upload files from anywhere else. Audiobook Creation Tools, launched 9 Sep 2026: EPUB in, free for up to 5 audiobooks, US, English, self-published, non-exclusive. Digital-voice titles are not shared with referral partners. Not stated on the help page. Spotify for Authors help (digital voice narration) and blog, read 23 Sep 2026
Voices by INaudio (formerly Findaway) No, except approved packages INaudio accepts only "unmodified LPF packages generated by Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, Spoken Press". Plain MP3 files and standard audiobook masters cannot replace that package. None of its own. The AI label is added automatically to approved packages. Not stated for these titles. Voices by INaudio support, digital voice article, read 23 Sep 2026
Apple Books No (only Apple's own) Apple's digital narration is made by Apple, requested through Draft2Digital, Ingram CoreSource or PublishDrive, in English. Apple does not describe a route for AI audio made elsewhere. Yes: "Narrated by Apple Books". Exclusive to Apple at retail under Draft2Digital's terms. Not stated on the help page. Apple Books for Authors, digital narration, read 23 Sep 2026
Author's Republic Yes, as a test Accepts AI-narrated titles in a test programme, following its naming guidelines. AI narration is "not permitted on all retail and library platforms", so expect a shorter channel list than for a human-narrated book. None. Not stated for AI titles. Author's Republic help, updated 21 May 2025
Direct: Gumroad, Payhip, your own site Yes No AI rule. You upload the MP3s (or a ZIP) as a download and set your own price. Saying the narration is AI in the description sets the right expectation. n/a Gumroad 10% + $0.50 per sale plus card processing; Payhip 5% plus processing. Gumroad and Payhip pricing pages, read 23 Sep 2026

Libro.fm, an independent bookshop audiobook store, carries AI titles that arrive through distributors but says it "will never knowingly prioritize, publicize, nor market" them (Libro.fm blog, updated 18 Feb 2026). ElevenReader Publishing takes the text, not your audio, and its app narrates it.

Which routes work for your book?

Four answers about the book, and the routes are sorted into what works, what works with conditions and what is closed to it. Nothing you choose leaves this page.

Files you make yourself can go to Google Play Books, Kobo and your own shop today. The stores that narrate for you each come with their own limits, listed second.

Files you make yourself (for example, MP3s from Inkfluence AI)

  • Google Play Books

    Works

    Upload your chapter MP3s and pick a "Synthesized voice" narrator.

  • Kobo Writing Life

    Works

    Any language, no exclusivity, 45% at $2.99 and up ($6.75 on a $14.99 sale). Set the narrator to Synthesised voice. No library distribution for AI titles.

  • Direct sales (Gumroad, Payhip, your site)

    Works

    No AI rule. On a $14.99 sale Gumroad leaves $12.99 before card fees, Payhip $14.24 before fees.

  • Author's Republic

    With conditions

    Test programme for AI narration; not every retailer or library it serves takes it.

  • Spotify for Authors

    With conditions

    Spotify names providers "like Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, and more". Ask Spotify before uploading files made anywhere else.

  • Voices by INaudio, Apple Books, ACX

    Not for this book

    INaudio takes only packages from three named providers, Apple only its own narration, ACX only human narration.

A store narrates the book for you

  • KDP Virtual Voice

    With conditions

    If Amazon invites you (US marketplace beta). 40% royalty, $3.99 to $14.99, sold on Audible and Amazon.

  • Google Play auto-narration

    Works

    Free, 50+ voices, publishers in 23 countries; 52% royalty. The files may be sold elsewhere if the book stays on Google Play at no higher price.

  • Spotify Audiobook Creation Tools

    With conditions

    Free for up to 5 audiobooks from an EPUB, US, English, self-published, non-exclusive.

  • Apple digital narration

    With conditions

    Through Draft2Digital, Ingram CoreSource or PublishDrive, English. Exclusive to Apple at retail under Draft2Digital's terms.

Royalty examples use a $14.99 list price and each store's published rate, before tax and card fees. Store rules as read on 23 September 2026.

A listener in headphones sits on a staircase holding a phone that plays The Salt Road by Nell Okafor, Chapter 03 - The Crossing, at 12:40 of 38:15, with a line reading Narration: synthesized voice under the progress bar.

Each store in more detail

ACX and Audible: human narration only

ACX is Amazon's audiobook marketplace and the way independent authors get a book onto Audible and Amazon. Its audio submission requirements, updated 15 April 2026, say: "Your submitted audiobook must be narrated by a human unless otherwise authorized: Unauthorized use of text-to-speech, AI, or automated recordings in ACX titles is prohibited." There is no disclosure box that makes an AI title acceptable, and no file format that changes the answer.

If Audible matters to you, the ACX route means a human narrator: yourself, a narrator you pay per finished hour, or a royalty share. Under the royalty model for authors who joined ACX from 26 May 2026, ACX pays a 50% royalty on exclusive titles and 30% on non-exclusive ones. Exclusive means ACX distributes the audiobook and you do not sell it anywhere else; non-exclusive leaves you free to put the same human recording on Google Play, Kobo and your own shop. ACX's Voice Replica, which builds an AI copy of a narrator's voice, is a narrator-side invite beta and not something an author can switch on.

The full ACX rule, what counts as "authorized" and the history of the policy are in our ACX and Audible AI narration policy post.

KDP Virtual Voice: Amazon's AI, with a catch for KDP Select books

Virtual Voice is Amazon narrating your Kindle ebook for you, inside KDP. According to KDP's help pages, it is an invite-only beta on the US marketplace, with 80 voices across US, UK and Australian English, Latin American and Castilian Spanish, French and Italian. The audiobook is clearly labelled as virtual voice, priced between $3.99 and $14.99, pays a 40% royalty, and is sold on Audible, Amazon, Alexa and Amazon Music Unlimited. You cannot upload your own AI files to it: the voices are Amazon's.

The line that matters most is this one: "Audiobooks with virtual voice are exclusive to Audible for the KDP Select enrollment period. This requirement applies to any audio edition of that book." If your ebook is in KDP Select (Kindle Unlimited) and you publish a Virtual Voice edition, you cannot also sell an audio edition of that book on Google Play, Kobo or your own site while it stays enrolled, including audio you made somewhere else. If the ebook is not in KDP Select, that lock does not apply.

So Virtual Voice is a good fit for a US author whose ebook lives in Kindle Unlimited and who wants the audiobook on Audible with no work. It is a poor fit if you want the audio wide, write in a language it does not cover, publish outside the US, or have not been invited. The ebook side of that choice is covered in KDP Select vs wide distribution.

Google Play Books: takes your files, and has its own AI too

Google Play Books is the clearest yes for audio you made yourself. In the Partner Center you upload the audiobook as MP3, WAV, FLAC or a ZIP, and the narrator field offers "Synthesized voice" options, which is how you disclose it. Google then sells it on Google Play.

Google also runs free auto-narration: more than 50 voices, for publishers in 23 countries, paying 52% on those titles. Unusually, the auto-narrated files may be sold elsewhere as long as the book is also on sale on Google Play at no higher price, and Google Play Books is one of the three providers whose packages Voices by INaudio accepts. For a book that is already on Google Play, that is worth comparing with making the files yourself; the trade-off is choice of voice, language coverage and control over pronunciation.

Kobo Writing Life: yes, in any language

Kobo's help centre (updated 23 July 2026) says Kobo will "gladly accept" AI-narrated audiobooks, in any language, with no exclusivity. You set the narrator to Synthesised voice, male, female or unspecified. Kobo pays 45% of the list price on single sales at $2.99 and up, which is $6.75 on a $14.99 audiobook, and 32% on listens through its subscription. The one limit: AI-narrated titles are not sent to library distribution.

For a book in German, Portuguese, Japanese or any other language outside Virtual Voice and Spotify's tool, Kobo and Google Play Books are the two big stores that will take it.

Spotify for Authors: ask first, or use Spotify's own tool

Spotify's digital voice narration help says: "We accept audiobooks with digital voice narration from providers like Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, and more." You tick "This audiobook uses digital voice narration" when you upload, and Spotify does not share those titles with its referral partners. The phrase "and more" is not a list, so if your audio comes from another tool, write to Spotify for Authors support and get a yes before you upload.

Since 9 September 2026 Spotify also has Audiobook Creation Tools: you upload an EPUB and Spotify narrates it, free for up to five audiobooks, for self-published US authors writing in English, with no exclusivity. For an English-language US author that is a route onto Spotify that does not depend on where your files came from.

Voices by INaudio (formerly Findaway Voices): packages only

This is the rule most guides still get wrong. Findaway Voices, now Voices by INaudio, distributes audiobooks to retailers and libraries, and it does accept AI narration, but only as "unmodified LPF packages generated by: Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, Spoken Press". It adds that MP3 files and standard audiobook masters cannot replace the required package. An MP3 from any other tool, however good, does not qualify, and neither does an MP3 exported from one of those three and re-edited.

Apple Books: Apple's own narration only

Apple's digital narration is made by Apple and requested through Draft2Digital, Ingram CoreSource or PublishDrive, in English. The finished title says "Narrated by Apple Books", and under Draft2Digital's terms it is exclusive to Apple at retail. Apple does not describe a route for AI audio made elsewhere, so treat Apple as closed to your own AI files.

Author's Republic: a test programme

Author's Republic, an audiobook distributor, accepts AI-narrated titles as a test, following its naming guidelines (help centre, updated 21 May 2025). It warns that AI narration is "not permitted on all retail and library platforms", so an AI title reaches fewer outlets than a human-narrated one would. Ask which channels your book would reach before you sign.

Direct sales: Gumroad, Payhip or your own site

Selling the files yourself has no AI rule and no exclusivity. You upload the chapter MP3s or a ZIP as a download, set the price and keep what is left after fees. Gumroad takes 10% plus $0.50 per sale plus card processing, so a $14.99 audiobook leaves $12.99 before card fees; Payhip takes 5%, leaving $14.24 before fees. The catch is traffic: these stores send you few browsers of their own, so direct sales work best for authors with a newsletter, a course or a social following. Bundling the audiobook with the ebook, or offering it to people who bought the paperback, are the usual ways in. Our guide to selling your ebook covers the listing side.

The routes by situation

Your ebook is in Kindle Unlimited, you are in the US

Two exclusive-free paths and one exclusive one. If Amazon invites you, Virtual Voice puts the book on Audible, but then every audio edition is Audible-only while you stay enrolled. Otherwise, your own files on Google Play Books, Kobo and your shop sit alongside the Kindle Unlimited ebook without conflict.

Your ebook is wide

Your own files go to Google Play Books, Kobo and direct sales. Add Google's auto-narration if you prefer its voices, and Spotify's tool if you are a US author writing in English. Audible means a human narrator through ACX, non-exclusive if you want to keep the other stores.

You write in a language other than English

Kobo takes AI narration in any language, and Google Play Books takes uploads. Virtual Voice adds Spanish, French and Italian on the US marketplace only; Spotify's tool and Apple's narration are English only. Direct sales work in every language.

You live outside the US

Virtual Voice and Spotify's tool are US-only, so your own files are the main route: Google Play Books, Kobo and direct sales. Google's auto-narration covers publishers in 23 countries.

Of the books narrated on Inkfluence AI, counted on 23 September 2026, 90.6% are in English and 9.4% in other languages, mostly German and Spanish. For that 9.4%, the store-made options barely exist and making the files yourself is the practical route. The AI audiobook trends page covers what authors narrate by genre.

What an Inkfluence AI audiobook is, and where it can go

Inkfluence AI narrates a book you wrote or imported, chapter by chapter, in any of 49 narrators across 14 languages. You pick the narrator, fix any word it says wrong once for the whole book, and record all chapters or just the ones you changed. When it is done you have three downloads:

  • An MP3 per chapter, as recorded, to listen to or share.
  • One MP3 of the whole book, for a single download on your own site.
  • A chapter ZIP: one MP3 per chapter, numbered in reading order, at 44.1 kHz, 192 kbps constant bitrate, mono, loudness-normalised to ACX's technical window, with room tone at the head and tail, plus separate opening and closing credits files.

Those files are made for the routes that take your own AI audio: Google Play Books, Kobo, Author's Republic's test programme and direct sales. They meet ACX's technical audio spec, but that does not make them eligible for ACX, which requires a human narrator. They are not an LPF package, so they cannot go to Voices by INaudio. We do not publish audio to any store for you: you upload the files yourself, which keeps you in charge of the listing and the disclosure.

How many chapters you can record depends on the plan. Creator includes 15 audiobook chapters a month in Standard quality; Premium includes 30 a month and adds the HD narrators. The free plan includes none, but purchased credits work on any plan in Standard quality. A median narrated book on the platform is eight chapters, so one book usually fits in a Creator month; the audiobook length calculator estimates yours from its word count. The help article on ACX shows how to prepare the chapter ZIP.

Before you upload: a short checklist

  1. Decide on Virtual Voice first. If your ebook is in KDP Select and you might accept an invitation, remember it makes every audio edition Audible-only while enrolled. Choose before you upload anywhere else.
  2. Use each store's disclosure field. "Synthesized voice" on Google Play Books, "Synthesised voice" on Kobo, the digital voice box on Spotify. On your own shop, say it in the description.
  3. Listen to every chapter. Names, invented words and numbers are where AI narration slips. Fix a word once and re-record only the chapters that use it.
  4. Upload the chapter files, in order. Stores that take audiobooks generally want one file per chapter; the merged MP3 is better suited to a single download.
  5. Check you hold the audio rights. If a publisher has your book, the audio rights may sit with them. If you wrote it, they are yours.
  6. Re-read the store's page on the day. Every rule on this page is dated because these rules move. The linked sources are the ones to trust over any guide, including this one.
A handwritten upload plan for The Salt Road in a spiral notebook: Google Play Books, tick Synthesized voice; Kobo Writing Life, tick Synthesised voice; my shop, say AI narration in the description; chapter ZIP at 44.1 kHz, 192 kbps, mono; listen to every chapter first. A sticky note beside it reads Virtual Voice? decide first, and a hand holds a USB stick.

What changed in 2026

Four changes shaped the table above. ACX updated its submission requirements on 15 April 2026, keeping human narration as the rule. ACX changed royalties for new users from 26 May 2026 to 50% exclusive and 30% non-exclusive. Kobo updated its AI narration help on 23 July 2026 and kept its open door. And on 9 September 2026 Spotify launched Audiobook Creation Tools, which, with Virtual Voice and Google's auto-narration, means three large stores now narrate books for authors at no charge, each inside its own limits.

The practical effect is that "can I sell an AI audiobook?" now has a clear answer for most books: yes, on Google Play Books, Kobo and your own shop with files you make, and in more places if a store narrates it for you, as long as you read the exclusivity terms. Audible is the exception, and it stays reachable by one AI route (Virtual Voice) and one human one (ACX). For a comparison of the two kinds of narration, see AI narration vs human narrators.

Selling an AI audiobook: FAQ

Can I sell an AI-narrated audiobook on Audible?+
Not with audio you made yourself. ACX, the way independent authors get onto Audible, requires human narration unless ACX has authorised otherwise, and prohibits unauthorised text-to-speech and AI recordings (submission requirements updated 15 April 2026). The one AI route onto Audible is Amazon's own KDP Virtual Voice, an invite-only beta on the US marketplace in which Amazon narrates your Kindle ebook with its own voices.
Does ACX accept AI narration in 2026?+
No. ACX's audio submission requirements say an audiobook must be narrated by a human unless otherwise authorised. An AI audiobook that meets ACX's technical audio spec (bitrate, sample rate, loudness) is still not eligible, because the rule is about who narrates, not how the file is encoded.
Does Spotify accept AI-narrated audiobooks?+
Spotify for Authors accepts digital voice narration "from providers like Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, and more", and you tick a box to say the book uses it. It does not list other tools, so if your audio comes from anywhere else, ask Spotify for Authors support before uploading. Separately, Spotify's Audiobook Creation Tools (launched 9 September 2026) narrate an EPUB for free, for up to five audiobooks, for US self-published authors writing in English.
Can I upload AI audiobook MP3s to Findaway Voices?+
No. Findaway Voices is now Voices by INaudio, and it accepts AI narration only as unmodified LPF packages generated by Google Play Books, ElevenLabs or Spoken Press. MP3 files and standard audiobook masters cannot replace that package, whatever tool made them.
Which stores accept AI audiobooks I made myself?+
As of 23 September 2026: Google Play Books (choose a "Synthesized voice" narrator), Kobo Writing Life (narrator set to Synthesised voice; any language; no exclusivity), Author's Republic as a test programme, and direct sales through Gumroad, Payhip or your own site. Spotify is possible only if Spotify confirms your tool. ACX, Apple Books and Voices by INaudio do not take them.
If my ebook is in KDP Select, can I sell the audiobook elsewhere?+
It depends on how the audiobook was made. If you publish a KDP Virtual Voice edition, Amazon's terms make every audio edition of that book exclusive to Audible for the KDP Select enrollment period, so no Google Play, Kobo or direct audio for it at the same time. If you do not use Virtual Voice, KDP Select is about the ebook, and your own audio files can go to Google Play Books, Kobo and your own shop.
How do I disclose AI narration?+
Each store has its own field. Google Play Books: pick a "Synthesized voice" option as the narrator. Kobo: narrator "Synthesised voice" (male, female or unspecified). Spotify: tick "This audiobook uses digital voice narration". Virtual Voice titles are labelled by Amazon. For direct sales there is no field, so say it in the description.
How much do AI audiobooks earn per sale?+
Only some stores publish a figure. On a $14.99 list price: Kobo pays 45% on single sales at $2.99 and up ($6.75); KDP Virtual Voice states a 40% royalty; Google Play pays 52% on its own auto-narrated titles; Gumroad leaves $12.99 before card fees and Payhip $14.24 before fees. For comparison, ACX pays new users 50% exclusive or 30% non-exclusive on human-narrated books.
Can an AI audiobook go to libraries?+
Mostly not yet. Kobo does not send AI-narrated titles to library distribution, Author's Republic says AI narration is not permitted on all of its retail and library platforms, and Voices by INaudio takes only packages from its three approved providers. Direct sales are the dependable route for audio you make yourself.
What files does Inkfluence AI give me?+
Three: an MP3 per chapter as recorded, one merged MP3 of the whole book, and a chapter ZIP with one MP3 per chapter at 44.1 kHz, 192 kbps constant bitrate, mono, loudness-normalised to ACX's technical window, with room tone and separate opening and closing credits files. Those files suit Google Play Books, Kobo and direct sales. They are not an LPF package, so they cannot go to Voices by INaudio, and meeting ACX's audio spec does not make them eligible for ACX.
Do I need the paid plan to make the audiobook?+
Creator includes 15 audiobook chapters a month in Standard quality, and Premium 30 a month with the HD narrators. The free plan includes none, but purchased credits work on any plan, including free, in Standard quality. The median book on the platform is eight chapters, so one book usually fits inside Creator's month.

Related reading

Make the files once. Put them where they are welcome.

Narrate your book in 49 voices and 14 languages, and download chapter MP3s you own.

Make an audiobook