Self-Publishing

Spotify Audiobook Redemption Codes: Authors Can Now Give Away 1,000 Free Copies (2026)

Spotify for Authors now lets you generate up to 1,000 free redemption codes per audiobook, up from 100. Listeners in 22 countries redeem them at authors-direct.com/spotify, with or without Premium. Codes earn no royalties. Here is how to generate them, how listeners redeem them, smart ways to use them, the review rules to respect, and how Spotify compares with ACX and Google Play promo codes.

Sam May Sam MayFounder, Inkfluence AI November 3, 2026 10 min read
Share: X Facebook LinkedIn
A phone on an oak desk playing an audiobook called The Lantern Keeper beside a printed sheet headed Listener codes with ten short codes, three ticked for launch team, podcast guest and newsletter, next to wooden headphones, a mug of tea and a fern

Quick Answer

Spotify for Authors lets you generate up to 1,000 free redemption codes per audiobook, up from 100. In your dashboard, open the book in Catalog, click Redemption codes, enter a number and click Generate. Listeners redeem each code once at authors-direct.com/spotify in 22 countries, on a free or Premium account, and the book does not use their monthly listening hours. You earn no royalties on redeemed copies.

Free copies are how most audiobooks find their first listeners: a launch team, a few reviewers, a newsletter giveaway. On Audible that means ACX promo codes, which come in batches of 25, work only in the US and UK, and are only for exclusive titles. Spotify's version is now much larger: up to 1,000 codes per audiobook, redeemable in 22 countries.

This post sticks to what Spotify has published and says where its own pages disagree.

Disclosure: Inkfluence AI is our product. It writes books and makes audiobooks, so we have an interest in this topic. We say below exactly what it does and does not do for Spotify.

Published 3 November 2026. Facts read on Spotify's, ACX's, Google's and Amazon's own pages the same day.

What changed, and when

Redemption codes are not new on Spotify. What changed is the number. Earlier copies of the same help page, saved by the Internet Archive, show how the feature grew:

Version of the help pageWho could generate codesCodes per audiobookCountries
December 2024Publishers, who could grant some to authors10010
May 2026Self-published authors; only the publisher for publisher titles10022
Now (page updated 19 August 2026)Self-published authors; publishers, who can also let their authors generate codes1,00022

Spotify followed with a blog post on 2 September 2026 encouraging authors to use codes for advance copies, and author newsletters picked it up in October. Spotify has not announced a switch-on date, so 19 August is the help page's own update stamp. Some translated help pages (Finnish and French, for example) still show 100.

A phone on an oak desk playing an audiobook called The Lantern Keeper beside a printed sheet of ten listener codes with ticks against launch team, podcast guest and newsletter, next to headphones and a mug of tea
A simple sheet of codes with a note of who got each one is all the tracking most launches need. The book and author are invented for this image.

Who can generate codes

  • Self-published authors can generate codes for their own audiobooks in Spotify for Authors.
  • Authors with a publisher get codes from the publisher, which can generate them and can optionally allow the author to do it. Spotify's advice is to ask your publisher if you do not see codes in your account.
  • The book must be available on Spotify. The help page says you can only generate codes for audiobooks that are available on Spotify.

Spotify for Authors is free and open to all authors and publishers; you sign up with an ordinary Spotify account. If your audiobooks reached Spotify through Findaway Voices (now Voices by INaudio), you connect through a banner in your INaudio dashboard. If another distributor delivered them, Spotify says to ask that distributor to invite you.

How to generate codes

  1. Sign in at authors.spotify.com.
  2. Open Catalog and select the audiobook.
  3. Click Redemption codes.
  4. Enter the number of codes you want, then click Generate.
  5. Copy the codes into a spreadsheet with a column for who received each one.

Spotify for Authors shows which codes have been redeemed. You do not have to create all 1,000 at once: a small batch per purpose (reviewers, newsletter, podcast) keeps tracking simple.

How listeners redeem them

Send this with every code, because most problems come from the wrong account or a blocked popup:

  1. Go to authors-direct.com/spotify. It looks odd, but Spotify's help page links to it and the page says it is owned and operated by Spotify.
  2. Make sure you are signed in to the Spotify account you want the book on. You can check at accounts.spotify.com.
  3. Turn off any popup blocker.
  4. Enter the code and your Spotify email address, then tap Continue. No account yet? You are asked to create one.

What listeners get, according to Spotify's redemption page:

  • No Premium needed. On a free account the book shows in the library as if it had been bought.
  • No listening hours used. On Premium, a redeemed book does not count against monthly audiobook hours or top-up hours, so a code is worth sending to Premium listeners too.
  • One code, one account. A redeemed code cannot be moved to another account, so a listener who redeems on the wrong account will need a new code from you.
  • 22 countries only, listed in the FAQ, and the book needs the rights to be sold in the listener's country. Brazil is not on the list, although Spotify audiobooks launched there on 15 October 2026; see our Portuguese audiobook guide.

Write the book first, then the audiobook

Inkfluence AI drafts the book with you, then narrates it chapter by chapter or lets you record your own reading, and exports chapter MP3 files you can upload to Spotify for Authors. Free to start.

Start your book free

Smart ways to use 1,000 codes

A thousand codes is more than most books need; the point is that you no longer have to ration them. Several of these uses Spotify suggests itself:

  • Launch team and advance listeners. Send codes to 20 to 50 readers a few weeks before launch day so ratings and posts land when the book does. Spotify's blog says codes can unlock a book before release day; see the caution in what Spotify has not said and test one code first.
  • Reviewers and bloggers in your genre. Book bloggers, Bookstagram and BookTok accounts, and podcast hosts who cover your subject. One code per person, with an honest-review request and nothing more.
  • Newsletter giveaway. Offer a code to the first 50 replies, or to subscribers who already bought the ebook.
  • Podcast guest spots. When you appear on a show, give the host a batch of codes for their listeners. Track that batch separately to see which shows bring listeners.
  • Bundle with the ebook or paperback. Readers who buy direct from your site, or at an event, get an audio code as a thank you.
  • Book clubs. Spotify suggests giving a club enough codes for a group listen.
  • Backlist. Pair a code drop on book one with a new release in the same series.

Spotify's countdown page, promo cards and embeddable player sit alongside codes. Our launch checklist puts steps like these in order.

What to avoid: reviews and codes

Free copies for reviewers are normal in publishing, within rules.

  • Never require a review, and never ask for a good one. Amazon's Community Guidelines let customers review free advance copies from authors or publishers, but say the author "can't require a review in exchange for free books or try to influence your opinion". Paid or incentivised reviews are not allowed.
  • Ask reviewers to say how they got the book. Spotify's redemption page reminds listeners to mention if a publisher or author gave them the audiobook. ACX marks reviews from promo codes as "Listener received this title free" to meet US FTC disclosure rules.
  • No extras for a review. A code is the free copy. Adding a gift card, entry into a prize draw or a discount in return for a review turns it into an incentivised review.
  • Ask for reviews where the copy lives. A Spotify code is a Spotify copy: ask for a Spotify rating, or a Goodreads review that says how the listener got the book.

Spotify codes vs other stores' promo codes

Only facts from each store's own help pages, read on 3 November 2026.

How many codesWhere listeners redeemWho qualifiesRoyalties on free copies
Spotify for AuthorsUp to 1,000 per audiobook22 countries, at authors-direct.com/spotify, free or Premium accountsSelf-published authors; publishers, and authors they allow; book must be on SpotifyNone
ACX (Audible)25 per marketplace at publication; 25 more after 10 redemptions and 100 qualified sales; up to 50 per marketplaceUS (audible.com) and UK (audible.co.uk) onlyRights holders of exclusive titles, and Royalty Share producersNone, for titles published on or after 26 March 2020
Google Play BooksUp to 3 campaigns a month, up to 5,000 codes eachSelected countries, chosen per campaignPartner Center publishers; works for ebooks and audiobooksNot stated on the help page
BookFunnelUnique download codes (limits not published on the pages we read)BookFunnel's own delivery, not a storeAudiobook delivery is an add-on to a Mid List plan or higherNo store sale involved
Kobo Writing LifeNo free audiobook code programme foundn/aKobo's Promotions tab is for price promotionsn/a

Spotify gives far more codes than ACX, in many more countries. ACX codes are only for exclusive titles, so an author who goes wide on audio cannot use them at all; for wide authors, Spotify and Google Play codes together now cover most of the large audio stores. Our step-by-step guides cover Google Play Books promo codes and Kobo's promotions, and the ACX royalty change covers the exclusive versus wide choice on Audible.

What Spotify has not said

  • Codes before release day. Spotify's 2 September blog says codes "unlock your book in Spotify before release day". Its help page says codes can only be generated for audiobooks "that are available on Spotify". Both can be true if a pre-release book with a countdown page counts as available, but Spotify does not say so. Generate one code and redeem it yourself before you email 50 reviewers.
  • Expiry. Neither the help page nor the redemption page mentions an expiry date.
  • Charts and rankings. Spotify does not say whether redeemed copies count towards charts or recommendations. Do not plan a launch around it.
  • Titles from other distributors. Spotify says to ask the distributor that delivered your audiobook for access to Spotify for Authors. Whether every distributor passes on code access is not stated.

Getting your audiobook onto Spotify

Codes only help once the audiobook is live. The direct route is Spotify for Authors: uploading is free, there is no limit on how many audiobooks you upload, it is non-exclusive, and you keep your rights. Spotify takes MP3, WAV or FLAC audio, a square cover (3000 by 3000 pixels recommended, PNG or JPEG), and asks you to finish your payment profile before publishing. Titles become available within three business days in the countries where Spotify for Authors uploads are sold.

Where Inkfluence AI fits, honestly:

  • If you narrate the book yourself, the audiobook studio lets you record each chapter in your browser or upload your own recording. It levels the audio and exports one MP3 per chapter (44.1 kHz, 192 kbps), which you upload to Spotify for Authors like any human-narrated audiobook. Own recordings use none of your audiobook chapter allowance, though the studio needs a paid plan or credits on hand. See narrate your own audiobook.
  • If you use AI narration, the AI audiobook generator narrates the book chapter by chapter: Creator includes 15 audiobook chapters a month, Premium 30, and credits work on any plan. Spotify accepts digital voice narration from providers "like Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, and more" and asks you to tick "This audiobook uses digital voice narration" at upload. Inkfluence is not on that short list, so ask Spotify for Authors support before you upload. Spotify also does not pass digitally narrated titles to its distribution partner, so they stay on Spotify only. Google Play Books and Kobo take labelled AI narration directly; our guide to where to sell an AI audiobook has each store's rule, dated.
  • We do not upload to Spotify for you. You upload the files yourself, which keeps the listing, the disclosure and the codes in your own account.

One more Spotify route: since September 2026 Spotify's own Audiobook Creation Tools turn an EPUB into a digitally narrated audiobook for free, for self-published authors in the US writing in English, up to five audiobooks per account. If that fits you, an EPUB exported from Inkfluence is the input it needs.

Spotify audiobooks launched in Italy on 7 October 2026 (Italy is not among the 22 countries where codes can be redeemed); Italian authors can read our Italian audiobook guide.

Turn your book into an audiobook

Record each chapter in the browser, upload your own reading, or let Inkfluence narrate it. Chapter files come out ready for Spotify for Authors, Google Play Books and Kobo.

Make your audiobook

FAQ

How many redemption codes can an author generate on Spotify for Authors?

Up to 1,000 codes per audiobook, according to Spotify's help page for redemption codes. Each code can be redeemed once. Until this year the limit was 100 per audiobook, and some translated versions of the help page still show the old number.

How do I redeem a Spotify audiobook code?

Go to authors-direct.com/spotify, enter the code and the email address of your Spotify account, then tap Continue. If you do not have an account yet, you are asked to create one. Make sure you are signed in to the right account and turn off any popup blocker first, because a redeemed code cannot be moved to a different account.

Do I need Spotify Premium to redeem an audiobook code?

No. Spotify's redemption page says subscription status does not affect redeeming a code. On a free account the audiobook appears in your library as if you had bought it. On Premium, listening to the redeemed book does not count against your monthly audiobook listening hours or top-up hours.

Is authors-direct.com/spotify legit?

Yes. Spotify's own help page for authors sends listeners to authors-direct.com/spotify, and the redemption page itself says it is a Spotify owned and operated website. If a code arrives from someone you do not know, check that the link goes to that exact address.

Do Spotify redemption codes earn royalties?

No. Spotify says you do not earn royalties from any free copies of your audiobook. Treat every code as a marketing cost, the same way you would treat an ACX promo code.

Which countries can redeem Spotify audiobook codes?

Spotify lists 22: Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Arab Emirates, the United Kingdom and the United States. The book must also have the rights to be sold in the listener's country.

Can I give Spotify codes to reviewers?

Yes, that is one of the uses Spotify suggests. Ask for an honest review, never require one, and never ask for a positive one. Amazon's guidelines allow reviews of free advance copies from authors but say the author cannot require a review in exchange or try to influence it, and Spotify's redemption page asks reviewers to mention that the author or publisher gave them the book.

Can I use redemption codes for an AI-narrated audiobook on Spotify?

Codes work for any audiobook that is live on Spotify through Spotify for Authors. Spotify accepts digital voice narration from providers "like Google Play Books, ElevenLabs, and more", with a box you tick at upload. It does not list every tool, so if your narration comes from somewhere else, ask Spotify for Authors support before you upload.

Your next book could have 1,000 listeners on day one

Write it, narrate it and export the files in one place. Inkfluence AI is free to start; audiobooks need a paid plan or chapter credits.

Start free

Sources

All read on 3 November 2026. If a store's own pages and this post disagree, the store's pages win.

spotify spotify-for-authors audiobook-marketing promo-codes audiobooks industry-news
Sam May

Founder, Inkfluence AI

Sam is the founder of Inkfluence AI. He built the platform to make book creation accessible to everyone - from first-time authors to seasoned publishers.

Ready to write your own book?

Write with AI, make it yours, and export PDF, EPUB and KDP-ready files from one project.

Keep reading

ACX's Legacy Royalty Model Ends This Year: What Audiobook Authors Need to Do (2026) Self-Publishing

ACX's Legacy Royalty Model Ends This Year: What Audiobook Authors Need to Do (2026)

Audible is discontinuing the ACX legacy royalty model by the end of 2026. Every title has to move to the new model (50% exclusive, 30% non-exclusive) or stop distribution. Enrolment takes effect on the 1st of the following month, so November is the safe month to do it. Here is what changes, a worked example, the question ACX's own pages answer two ways, and a checklist.

11 min
ISBN Canada's AI Rule (2026): The Human-Author Declaration Explained Publishing

ISBN Canada's AI Rule (2026): The Human-Author Declaration Explained

ISBN Canada now asks every registrant to declare their book was written by a human author, allows AI only for limited support tasks, and limits ISBNs for works primarily generated by AI. What changed on 9 October 2026, who it affects, what counts as a support task, what to do if your book is AI-assisted or mostly AI-generated, how it fits with KDP's AI question, and a checker for which ISBN route fits your book.

22 min
How to Publish on Barnes & Noble Press in 2026: Ebooks, Print Rules and AI Disclosure Self-Publishing

How to Publish on Barnes & Noble Press in 2026: Ebooks, Print Rules and AI Disclosure

B&N Press pays 70% on ebooks from $0.99, and 55% minus printing on print books, which since 22 April 2026 must list at $14.99 or more. It asks whether each part of your book is AI-Created or AI-Assisted, refuses public domain titles, caps accounts at 100 titles and sells ebooks to US readers. Here is every step from account to promotion, read from B&N Press's own help pages, with a royalty calculator against KDP.

23 min

Get ebook tips in your inbox

Join creators getting weekly strategies for writing, marketing, and selling ebooks.